Personal Post!

Things have been going pretty well lately.  Having a life, learning and enjoying structure again is nice!  Last week was my first week at public school again so there wasn’t much to do except sit around and listen about disclosures.  This week is already feeling more like school, though.  I’m enjoying all of my classes and I’m really liking what I’m getting to learn.  At my age I am starting to realize that education is everything so even though I am not taking many core classes at all, I am still doing very well compared to previous years in school.  My favorite class so far is probably guitar just because I’m actually learning to play and I thought I never would.

Yesterday was my dad’s birthday as well.  We got him Oreos (DUH, it’s my dad), a really funny Darth Vader shirt and a gift certificate to Michael’s Craft Store for more supplies for his miniatures.  He seemed to enjoy his birthday.  I had the privilege of making his cake.  I’ve made him cake before, but this year I really wanted to try to make it look nice.  I made a double layer 8″ red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting.  Let me tell you one thing.  I hate frosting.  I love the taste of it, but I hate working with it.  It’s not smooth like fondant and I have NO IDEA how to smooth it out to make it look flawless.  Plus, red crumbs on the cake got in the frosting as I was spreading it around, causing it to be some-what polka-dotted… Great, huh?  I also didn’t even know what I was going to do when I started decorating so there’s a straight line around the top of the cake and then wavy icing inside of it because I decided I wanted wavy but I had already put the straight line…. Yeah, here are some pictures:

Both layers baked and cooled.

Cake assembled.

Frosted… what does it look like?  This is the top icing.  See what I mean about the straight line and the waves?

Blurry.  Bottom of the cake.

Side view.  Polka dotted and uneven frosting.  Wah.

 Cake.  Yes, it’s on a blue Tupperware lid because we don’t have any cake stands.  Double wah.

So, the cake didn’t turn out looking too good but I guess it was an okay attempt for my first “somewhat fancy cake.”  It definitely tasted marvelous.  I love red velvet with cream cheese frosting…. mmmmmmmm…. it’s my favorite kind of cake.  (But I prefer razzleberry pie over cake any day.)

Other than school and cake… not much is going on.

My hair is growing out!  It only has another inch to go before it’s as long as it was before I cut it short in 2011.  I always cut my hair when it gets long and every single time I do, I always regret it.  Back in the day I used to have hair all the way down past my hips.  I want it long again!  It’s getting closer to my first goal though and after that, I will trim it (and that last inch will actually be gone, but still) and then grow it out three more inches before trimming again.  I know everyone says for healthy hair trim every month/every two months but I know my hair and how it works.

 I also haven’t been watching ANY Gossip Girl since school started… I turn it on every once in a while but I get too distracted since I don’t have as much time to relax as I did when I was doing home school.  I have homework and practice now! So, that’s kind of sad.  Gossip Girl is getting kind of boring too though, they seem to be drawing out the show too much right now and adding too much drama to keep it alive and also to keep up with.

That’s all I can think of update-wise.  I’ll see you Wednesday for Favorite Song Of The Week along with Movies Of The Month!

 

 

One thought on “Personal Post!

  1. Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this site.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s challenging to
    get that “perfect balance” between usability and visual appearance.
    I must say you’ve done a great job with this. Additionally, the blog loads extremely fast for me on Opera.

    Excellent Blog!

I love comments!

