Movie Review

This week is actually going to contain two movie reviews since I couldn’t do one last weekend.

My reviews never contain spoilers.

*

Never Been Kissed

Rated: PG-13

Time Run: 107 Minutes

Genre: Comedy/Drama/Romance

Director: Raja Gosnell

Writer(s): Abby Kohn, Marc Silverstein

Starring: Drew Barrymore, David Arquette & Michael Vartan

Pros: Funny, sweet, cheesy, Drew Barrymore

Cons: unrealistic, very predictable

My Biggest Problem: Although the story could be true, it’s pretty “amped up” and dramatic (I know it’s a drama, but still.) and that just always bugs me about comedy.  I like a movie that can be genuinely funny, without having to make things over-the-top.

My Favorite Feature: Even though this movie is SO cute and romantic, my favorite part was definitely Drew Barrymore.  Without her, this movie would have been a disaster.

IMDb’s Stars (out of ten): 5.7/10

My Stars (out of ten): 5/10

*

Meet the Parents:

Rated: PG-13

Time Run: 108 Minutes

Genre: Comedy/Romance

Director: Jay Roach

Writer(s): Greg Glienna and Mary Ruth Clarke

Starring: Ben Stiller, Robert De Niro & Teri Polo

Pros: sweet

Cons: ridiculous, cliche, annoying, not funny

My Biggest Problem: I can’t pick my biggest problem for this movie… Like I said in the previous review, I like a movie that can be genuinely funny (witty) without having to put it over-the-top.  This is one of those movies that either a five year old or a drunk group of teenagers would laugh at.  It’s not funny at all and I found it extremely annoying.  I wanted to turn it off several times.

My Favorite Feature: None.

IMDb’s Stars (out of ten): 7/10 (wow!)

My Stars (out of ten): 1/10


I love comments!

