Friday Post!

First! Weekly Picture:

 Apologies for lack of (mark all that apply):

[x] caring

[x] quality

[x] editing to make the photo upright

(Feeling extremely lazy tonight and that’s okay.)

Second! Recipe:

Pictures and recipe from here.  These look so death-fully delicious, oh my word.

Ingredients:

  • 3 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar, divided
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 3/4 cup cold butter, cut into 1/4-inch cubes
  • 1 cup heavy cream, plus 1-4 tablespoons
  • 2 cups cinnamon baking chips
  • 1 tablespoon turbinado sugar
  • 3/4 cup confectioners’ sugar, sifted

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Line baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. Place flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg in the bowl of a food processor fitted with a metal blade. Process with six 1-second pulses.
  3. Remove cover of food processor and sprinkle the butter evenly over the dry ingredients. Cover and process with 12 1-second pulses. Transfer contents to a large bowl.
  4. Stir heavy cream into the flour mixture, adding up to 2 additional tablespoons of heavy cream just until moistened. Fold in cinnamon chips and knead the dough by hand 6 to 8 times  (do not overprocess or scones will be tough) then turn the dough out onto a lightly floured work surface. Divide dough in half. With lightly floured hands press each half of dough into a 7-inch round. With a sharp knife or pizza cutter, cut the dough into 6 wedges. Repeat with remaining dough.
  5. Place wedges on the prepared baking sheet. Brush the scones with 1 tablespoon of heavy cream and sprinkle lightly with turbinado sugar.
  6. Bake in preheated oven 10 to 13 minutes or until tops of scones are a lightly browned. Transfer to a wire rack for at least 10 minutes before glazing.
  7. While the scones are cooling, make glaze. Combine 1 tablespoon heavy cream, and confectioners’ sugar until you achieve a thick, opaque icing. Drizzle over scones and serve.

Yields: 12 scones Prep Time: 20 minutes Bake Time: 13 minutes

Third! Personal Update:

Today was my last day of homeschool.  I mean, not technically since I’ll still be doing homeschool on top of public school this year, but you get what I mean!  Yesterday my dad and I went around doing some stuff, set up my classes, and today I took a trip down to my school and picked up my official schedule!  I’m so happy, it’s most electives and that’s going to make everything so fun! :D Here’s a rough idea of my schedule (I can’t give some classes away because it will reveal my age/grade and that’s not appropriate for the interwebs n’ shtuff.)

A day:

Math

A fun writing class

blank.

blank.

B day:

Photography! (so glad this school provides a photography class!)

blank.

Aerobics

Guitar! :D (I have a guitar and don’t know how to play it.  At one time I taught myself a song or two, but I have forgotten and I’m taking a real class now to play/learn the right way!)

So, yeah! I also went shopping today with my brother and we went out to lunch as well.  I had a lot of fun, my brother is a really awesome person!  Oh!  He got me this backpack today from Urban Outfitters (favorite store EVER.) and I am SO in love with it!  I honestly can’t get enough of it.  It’s sitting right next to me right now!  I’m obsessed with it, it’s the cutest backpack I’ve ever owned!  I tried to look for it online, because the pictures I took of it aren’t the best (it’s nighttime, no good lighting, and I’m too lazy to go get my camera from down stairs) but they don’t have it online! Which is stupid because they have alllllll the ones on the shelf/aisle/hanging thing that were beside/below/above the backpack I got.  Ugh, whatever.  So anyways!  Here are some pictures!

It’s much brighter in person. I cannot stop drooling over it!

It has a pocket inside and that pocket you see on the front, which opens with a zipper.

Anyways, that’s pretty much all for now… I don’t have many plans this weekend, except for I need to get my room clean and organized so it can stay that way and not make me feel anxious when I go back to school, since I’ll already be loaded with tons of work to do.

See you Sunday for two movie reviews!

I love comments!

